2016: A Year in Review

_m2a8197-title

I say this every time I put together a New Year’s post, but taking a moment to look back on all the things you’ve achieved throughout the year is honestly one of my favourite features to write. It’s incredible how easy it is to forget the things you’ve done, the places you’ve gone and the people you’ve met in just 12 months. Each time I look back on my previous year’s post, I can see just how much I’ve grown professionally and as a person – I’m sure you can all say the same for yourselves. And so, after successfully completing my first year as a full-time photographer (I wasn’t sure if I could make it through six months when I first started!!) I wanted to share my favourite fashion and travel moments of 2016.

_m2a7927

2016 was a really special year for me as a fashion and lifestyle photographer. It marked my growth in the industry, where I had chance to work with some fashion brands I really respect and look up to. Along with the photography work I offer fashion bloggers in London, I also shoot for a number of different fashion houses to create imagery for their websites, look-books and social media platforms. From online fashion campaigns with Dorothy Perkins, to social media imagery for Farfetch, my work is always so varied which keeps me on my creative toes. I shot website images for Lavender HillMatthew Williamson, Peggy Porschen and Lebanese couture house Azzi & Osta. I also created blog features for the White Company, Lily & Rose and Jewel Street.

Every shoot I work on has a story, and sometimes the fashion stories I’m commissioned by brands to create for my blog are the most enjoyable – where I have total creative freedom to shoot exactly how I wish. I hope that in 2017 I’ll have chance to let my photography style mature and shoot for more brands that I love.

_M2A3676.jpg

2016 was a busy and amazing year of travel for me. It saw me flying abroad almost every single month of the year (except January and October), allowing me to visit and experience some new and truly beautiful parts in the world. Throughout the year I learnt just how much I enjoy travelling little and often – I feel that with a sweet 3-4 day or even a week’s holiday somewhere, you really get chance to absorb and take in the place you’re visiting, enjoy a taste of the architecture, food and culture. I love this much more than mammoth journeys packed with a million different places, but hey, that’s just me!

One of my travel highlights of the year was experiencing Goa, India not once, but twice this year – both for weddings and yet both such different journeys. India is definitely a shock to the senses in every form but is somewhere you have to visit at least once in your life. Following my first trip to India, it was already summertime and that meant heading to Greece. I can’t go a year without visiting my family in Athens, however each time I try to make a trip to a new Greek island – this year crossing Corfu and Paros off my list. I also made a trip to the Spanish islands, visiting Mallorca for the first time ever where I was pleasantly surprised by its beauty. Having never previously been to any of the Balearic islands I did not know how the experience would compare to Greece, but I learnt that they too have the most stunning blue waters  – and that Palma is a place you must get high on your list. 

_M2A9226.jpg

2016 was also a year of travel features on my blog, an area I wanted to develop more on my website, Aurora-Stories.com. I spent three fabulous days in Geneva with Swiss Air and the tourism board where we were offered a fun-filled tour of the city. I also visited Paris with a group of lovely bloggers, Nathan and Belle & Bunty where we collaborated with the furnished apartments group, the Sweet Inn. Finally, as you read this I’m finishing off the year in a beautiful boutique Michelin star hotel in Lancashire, Northcote – a little New Year’s break we decided to take before going back to work. Discovering the UK on mini road-trips is just what I hope to do more of in the year to come…

Last but not least, I made a few trips to Italy, one of my favourite countries. Each time I return with my boyfriend to visit his family, we make sure to visit a new city, so I can learn more and more about the amazing country. This year we spent time in Bologna and Rome – I can safely say I had some of the best food I’ve ever tasted and the Roman light captured my heart….So 2016 wasn’t too bad on my travel-miles, I guess it will always be a huge part of my life. Once you get a taste of it, that thrill of stepping onto new soil, and being in a place where you can’t even say hello, gets more and more exciting. Who knows what next year will bring… but let’s hope in includes lots more pretty backdrops to get me clicking away!

_M2A3101.jpg

Before I sign off, I just wanted to say a HUGE thank you to the wonderful bloggers that I have had chance to work with throughout the year. It is such a pleasure and inspiration to work with people who constantly push themselves creatively and professionally. A big thank you to the brands who have reached out to me and given me the opportunity to use my photography skills in ways I didn’t have chance to before. It is an honour to be chosen for my recognised photography style and know that people appreciate the work that I do.

And last but not least thank to all of YOU, my readers, social media followers and supporters. I wouldn’t be able to do the work that I do, if it wasn’t for you – I’m truly grateful for all your support and kind words, and want to wish you all the best, most beautiful and most prosperous 2017! May it be your best year yet!

Leave a comment